Pitcairn

Basic facts

Population: 37 (2014)

Land area: 35.5 km² (Pitcairn Island: 4.35 km²)

Exclusive economic zone: 800,000 km²

Listing as a Non-Self-Governing Territory

Pitcairn has been on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories since 1946, following the declaration of the intention by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Island to transmit information on the **High Commission Territories of the Western Pacific** (which had included the Pitcairn Islands) under Article 73 *e* of the Charter of the United Nations.

See: General Assembly resolution 66 (I) of 14 December 1946

Administering Power

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

United Nations-related action

The General Assembly adopts on an annual basis a resolution with a section specifically devoted to Pitcairn.

See: General Assembly resolution 69/105 A-B of 5 December 2014

Most recent United Nations Secretariat annual Working Paper on Pitcairn: A/AC.109/2015/5

Links

Government of Pitcairn

Foreign and Commonwealth Office of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland